Skip to main content
Theme Park

Special Dietary Information

Here at the Alton Towers Resort we cater for a wide range of food & drink allergies and intolerances including; Cereals containing gluten, Dairy, Sesame, Soya, Lupin, Celery, Egg, Fish, Crustaceans, Nuts, and Mustard. All of our on Resort eateries have allergy information ready to assist you in making your choice. Our delicious ranges can be cooked to order separate to avoid areas where cross contamination paths could cross our menus include; Steaks, Gammons, Gluten free pizza, Chicken, Salads and Jacket Potatoes we can also mix and match dishes to tailor for your needs. If you require any additional information prior to visiting the resort please contact our guest services department.

Healthy Eating at Alton Towers

As well as serving scrummy treats for you and your family to indulge in, the resort also serves healthier food options in Woodcutter's Bar and Grill and anywhere that displays the ‘Healthier Choices’ logo. The resort takes the quality of its food very seriously and ensures that guests have a large amount of variety and choice. Our menus are reviewed and checked to guarantee that guests receive the highest quality food at competitive prices.
We have a diverse collection of the classic, traditional favorites, as well as a large selection of healthy snacks. We aim to grill or oven-bake our food wherever possible, as well as offering baked potatoes and salads, instead of fries as alternative side orders.
We have also introduced many new options including a range of delicious healthy kids meals, which contain fresh ingredients and vital nutrients for growing children.

Gluten Free Product Update

We work closely with our supplier partner, Aramark, to offer an appealing choice of foods which are suitable for guests with a range of dietary needs and want to reassure all our guests that we are not reducing or permanently removing the gluten free alternative options on our menus run by our third-party supplier Aramark.  

We are currently working with Aramark to review suitable alternative products, and while that review is underway, we have temporarily suspended the sale of replacement gluten-free options. Please bear with us whilst we explore new options which we are aiming to launch soon. 

Our priority is for our F&B partner Aramark to always to comply with food safety legislation, as well as creating tasty meal options for those guests with gluten allergies and intolerances or with coeliacs disease. Allergen information is available at every outlet and many dishes currently available do not have gluten containing ingredients. It is items such as gluten free bread products which have been temporarily removed in line with new Food Standards Agency guidance. 

Alongside our catering partner Aramark, we are both committed to providing a diverse and inclusive dining experience for all our guests.  

Our non-gluten alternative offerings will remain an integral part of our menus, and we promise to continuously work to enhance and expand our selection to cater to the diverse dietary needs of our guests. 

We value the feedback of all of our guests and encourage open communication to address any specific concerns or dietary requirements. We are fully committed to ensure we deliver the highest standards of food safety and quality possible.  Over the coming weeks, before we fully open for the main season, we will be working alongside Aramark to establish the best ways we can achieve this and offer non-gluten containing items on our menus. 

Thank you for your patience whilst we work to deliver an enhanced experience for you, our valued guests, and for the opportunity to clarify this matter. We look forward to welcoming you to our attractions in 2024! 

Contact Us

If you have any feedback please e-mail us or phone us on 01538 703344

Gluten Free Product Update FAQs

Following a full review late last year, we have temporarily paused our offering of replacement gluten-free items amid concerns of airborne and cross contact contamination in outlets where there are large volumes of gluten containing products. Allergen information is available and there are plenty of dishes that do not contain gluten as an ingredient. It is gluten free product replacements such as bread products which have been temporarily suspended. 

We are fully committed to ensure we deliver the highest standards of food safety and quality possible and take all food allergies seriously. Alongside our catering partner Aramark, we are both committed to providing a diverse and inclusive dining experience for all of our guests, with menu options that cater to a range of dietary restrictions and preferences. We are actively working with Aramark on expanding our menu to accommodate a new range of non-gluten containing options which we hope to roll-out in the coming weeks. Guest safety is our utmost priority, and we appreciate your patience as we resolve this issue.  

The Food Standards Agency updated guidance for food businesses and in line with this Aramark took the decision to remove replacement items such as gluten free burger buns and pizza bases as the risk of airborne and cross contact contamination in outlets where there are high levels of gluten in the environment.  

We understand the importance of offering non-gluten containing options, and we are diligently working on developing and testing new items to meet this dietary need. While we do not have a specific date to share at the moment, we assure you that it is a top priority for us.  

You may see different terms relating to gluten on menus when you eat out. The following definitions will help you make the right choice at our attractions. 

No Gluten Containing Ingredients (NGCI). This term is often used to describe foods made with ingredients that do not contain gluten. These items will not be suitable for coeliacs as they may be made or prepared in an environment that handles gluten. In recent guidance, the Food Standards Agency recommended this term should not used, as it is thought to cause confusion. You will therefore no longer see this term on our menus. 

Products not containing gluten. Information on allergens in the food we serve is available at every food outlet and can be obtained from staff on request. We offer many choices that naturally do not contain gluten as an ingredient. We will be able to provide information for every dish we serve, as to whether or not gluten is an ingredient, along with information on the other 13 UK food allergens. We cannot guarantee that these products will be ‘gluten-free’.  

Gluten Free. For a product to be gluten free, there must be less the 20 parts per million (20 ppm) or less of gluten contained in the product. Due to the presence of gluten in our kitchens, the products and dishes made, prepared or handled in house will not be called ‘gluten free’. Alternative pre-packed products will be made available. These will be sourced fully packed from the supplier and will be served in the packaging to avoid any risk of contamination. These will be suitable for those with a gluten or wheat allergy and coeliacs. Please ask the server for available gluten free packed options. 

The use of plastic wrapping is part of our commitment to maintaining high standards of food safety for those with allergens. It helps protect your meal from external contaminants and ensures that it reaches you in the best possible condition.  

Whilst we are actively exploring environmentally friendly packaging alternatives, we currently offer gluten free burger buns and hot dog buns within plastic packaging. A packed risotto product is also available in our Pizza Pasta restaurant. More products are being sourced to enable you to have more choice when eating with us. 

All outlets have detailed allergen information available for the 14 food allergens as required by the Food Information Regulations. Please ask at the food outlet and you will be provided with accurate allergen information. We do not display allergen information on our website or menus as ingredients are liable to change.  


1 Check-In & Check-Out
2 Guests
years old
Buy Tickets Only